(c) 2016 Mount Merrion Historical Society
Next Annual Outing................. Saturday 9th June, 2018
..................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Mount Merrion Historical Society
Home     About Us     Activities     Local History     Gallery     Contacts
Cavan County Museum
Museum Building

We aim to collect, conserve and ultimately display the material heritage and culture of County Cavan and its environs, for the benefit of the public.

Exhibition galleries feature unique artefacts dating from the stone age up until the twentieth century, material spanning over 6000 years of occupation in Cavan. Displays of notable interest include the Killycluggin stone and the three-faced Corleck Head, two of the most recognisable examples of Celtic spirituality in the country.

The museum also houses a medieval Dug-Out boat and a selection of medieval Sheela-na-Gigs, as well as a Folk Life gallery depicting life in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

Newly-opened galleries deal with topics as diverse as the Great Famine, Percy French and the Lords Farnham. Our temporary exhibition space plays host to visiting and currently relevant exhibitions, whilst our Eden Gallery is home to regular art shows given by local and national artists.
World War One Trench Experience and Exhibition Gallery.

Cavan County Museum is now home to the largest outdoor replica trench open to the public in Ireland and the UK. The Trench is becoming a must-see attraction for visitors since it opened in August 2014 and includes sound and visual effects to enhance the experience and educate visitors on life in the trenches in World War One. 

The trench, built to the specifications and manuals of the Irish Guards and used by the Royal Irish Fusiliers at the Battle of the Somme 1916 is over 350m long and includes frontline, communication and support trenches. Over 6000 sand bags were used in its construction.
The Gardens

Like the castle itself, the Gardens at Tullynally date back over 350 years. The Pakenhams (later Earls of Longford) settled here in the 17th century and three generations still live here as their family home. The layout of the gardens and magnificent parkland date mainly from the early 1800s, but the present owners, Thomas and Valerie Pakenham have added many new features. Take the main path to the walled Flower Garden and visit the llamas and the stone “Nandi" (sacred Indian bulls) next door or take the path to the Grotto with fantastic carvings by a local artist. Or follow the Forest Walk to the Chinese garden and onto the Lower Lake with its pair of swans.

Everywhere you will find superb trees and views - and pretty ornamental summer houses to rest in. For tree enthusiasts, there is a special Tree Trail to follow and for children an exciting Treasure Trail to explore
Tullynally Castle
    & Gardens
Depart: Mount Merrion 9.00am
(from The Rise car park Church of St. Therese)
Return:
Mount Merrion 5.45pp
Price:    €39.50 per person
(includes coach trip, tea/coffee on arrival, guided tours)
The Castle

The name Tullynally is an adaption of Tulaigh an Eallaigh - the Hill of the Swan. The hill overlooks Lough Derravaragh, the legendary lake of the Children of Lir who were turned into swans and we like to think the name has some connection with the legend. In Norman times, the land was owned by the FitzSimons who later moved to Wicklow. Henry Pakenham bought the estate in the wake of the Cromwellian civil wars - and built a square “plantation house” which is still the core of the existing castle.

In 1740, Henry Pakenham's grandson Thomas married a neighbouring heiress, Elizabeth Cuffe, great neice of the last Earl of Longford, and the family fortunes took an upward turn. The Longford title was recreated for Thomas Pakenham and the house was enlarged with another storey.

In 1803, the 2nd Earl of Longford, another Thomas, decided to turn his house back into a castle, with flanking towers and a row of battlements. The 2nd Earl was a compulsive builder and in 1820 there was a second round of gothic “improvements” designed by James Sheil, including an octagonal diningroom and and a magnificent Great Hall with perfect acoustics for music.
WYSIWYG Web Builder